This is the "Books" page of the "Theology & Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theology & Religion   Tags: arts_&_humanities, theology_&_religion  

Need help w/ research? Here's the place to go!
Last Updated: Nov 11, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page

Useful Reference Books

Reference books are a great way to get some background information on a topic that you don't know much about.  This is a great place to begin your research.

Cover Art
Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS440 .A54 1992

Cover Art
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: REF BS440 .N445 2006
5 volume set

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology
Call Number: REF BR95 .D5313 2005
3 volume set

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Call Number: REF BR162.2 .E53 1997
2 volume set

Cover Art
Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
Call Number: REF BV4011.3 .D53 2005

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: REF BM50.E63 2005
4 volume set

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
Call Number: REF BP67.U6 E53 2007
2 volume set


Finding Theology & Religion in the Library

Reeves Library uses the Library of Congress Classification Scheme to organize library resources. Each call number is preceded by 1 to 3 letters. The first letter is the principal subject heading. For example, the letters BL - BX are assigned to the subject headings "theology and religion." Theology/Religion-related LC subject headings and their location in Reeves Library:

  • BL: Religions. Mythology.Rationalism Upper Level South
  • BM: Judaism Upper Level South
  • BP: Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc. Upper Level South
  • BQ: Buddhism Upper Level South
  • BR: Christianity Upper Level South
  • BS: The Bible * Upper Level South
  • BT: Doctrinal Theology Upper Level South
  • BV: Practical Theology Upper Level South
  • BX: Christian DenominationsUpper Level South
  • The Upper and Main Levels house circulating books. Reference materials on these and other subjects are found on the Main Level by the reference desk.  To get a better idea of these locations, take a look at our Map of the Library Stacks.

Book Database - Reeves Library Catalog

To find books in Reeves Library on a topic, click on the link below to search the library catalog MOSYS.  

Book Database - WorldCAT

To do a comprehensive search for books on a topic, click on the link below to search WorldCAT.

  • Choose either a Keyword or Subject search. If you've found an especially useful Subject term in our catalog, you can use that term for Subject searching in this catalog, too.
  • Limit your search to Books (that's this database's specialty).
  • Select English as a language (it's a multi-lingual database).
  • When a list of sources display, limit your audience to Not Juvenile and your content to Not Fiction.

Search for Articles & Books

  • Combined Search
    Combined Search searches the majority of the library's resources.

Loading  Loading...