If you need assistance searching a database, getting books or articles, evaluating a website, or anything else, we provide lots of how-to information. Use the links below to get help or feel free to contact a librarian.
Search for books, journals, or databases using the link below:
About this Guide
Welcome to our Research Help page for Sociology!
This guide provides easy linking to the most useful sources for Sociology research -- be they books, articles, reliable websites, or information on citing sources. Click on the tabs above to link to the tools you will need to find those sources.
Getting where you need to go
If you want to find the most appropriate sites for doing sociology research (or research in another discipline) go to the library homepage http://home.moravian.edu/public/reeves/ and mouse over the first box Books & Articles. Select Articles & Journals from the drop-down menu. On the next screen click on the arrow to the right of Select a page, and under Social Sciences, click on Sociology. In this way you will bring up a list of the most appropriate databases for sociology research with Sociological Abstracts, the best one, at the top of the list.
If you want to find out whether or not Reeves owns or provides access to a periodical, go to the library homepage and again mouse over Books & Articles. Then select Articles and Journals from the drop-down menu. On the next screen, under LOCATE A JOURNAL AT REEVES, type in the title of the periodical you are looking for. If Reeves provides access to it, the record will indicate where it can be accessed (in our paper collection on the lower level of Reeves or in electronic format) and the time period for which access is available.
If you want to get a book or periodical article through interlibrary loan, mouse over the first box on the library homepage, Books & Articles, and click on Interlibrary Loan from the drop-down menu. This will link you to the Article Order Form and the Book Order Form.